Emilia Romagna

Total Views : 317

car on a road


Emilia Romagna

Morfologically formed by two almost equivalent parts, a mountainous and hilly and the other flat, the region also boasts the Riviera Romagnola: a 120-km coastline, bordered by large beaches and which also offers many youth entertainment venues. Emilia Romagna is the region of excellence to eat well: there is no corner of the region where it is not possible to come across a tasty and inviting local specialty.



Bologna, the regional capital, nicknamed "dotta" and "fatty", impresses the spirit of this land, with an important addition nowadays, the Fun Factory of the Riviera Romagna with its proverbial nightlife and the famous theme parks.

Ferrara, crossed by streams and tributary channels of the river Po, includes many protected areas and the largest swamp of Italy, Valli di Comacchio, which is part of the Delta del Po National Park. The province boasts a rich historical- artistic, including the same city of Ferrara and the Abbazia di Pomposa, as well as seaside resorts such as the seven Lidi di Comacchio.

Forlì-Cesena historically occupied a larger territory until 1992 when it was subdivided to create the province of Rimini, adding Cesena to the denomination and creating the two districts of Forlì and Cesena, each consisting of 15 municipalities.

Modena, a province full of history as an independent state, the Duchy of Modena and Reggio, also boasts a standard of living among the highest in Italy thanks to the flourishing industrial sector including elite automotive companies such as Ferrari, Maserati and Lamborghini.


Emilia Romagna is formed by 9 provinces and 340 municipalities. Among the provinces are: Bologna, Ferrara, Forlì-Cesena, Modena, Parma, Piacenza, Ravenna, Reggio Emilia and Rimini.