Total Views : 849

car on a road



Calabria is a region of Southern Italy and forms the tip of the boot. It has a predominantly hilly surface, but also has large mountainous areas and modest extension plains. The main resource is the sea, with a long coastline overlooking three seas (Tirreno, Ionio and Strait of Messina) in a landscape that alternates with beaches and cliffs. The territory of Calabria hosts some of the Italian national monuments including castles, abbeys, churches, baptistery and sanctuaries. It also boasts many archeological sites, due to the many domination that has followed in history.



Very well-known is Reggio Calabria, the capital of the region, an Italian metropolitan city. In the historic center of Isola di Capo Rizzuto there are remains of the sixteenth-century fortified complex of the Feudal Castle, erected in medieval times; among the places we find the "Clock" and the Door of the Medieval Village that divides the ancient area from the more modern.



Calabria is divided into 5 provinces and 409 municipalities. These include Reggio Calabria, Catanzaro, Cosenza, Crotone, Vibo Valentia, Lamezia Terme, Corigliano Calabro, Gioia Tauro and Isola di Capo Rizzuto.

You might like