Total Views : 563

car on a road



Abruzzo is a region between the Adriatic Sea and the Central Apennines. The territory is mountainous and hilly; the coastline has large sandy beaches or pebbles. The territory boasts numerous natural parks and protected marine areas: it has the title of "Green Region of Europe" thanks to the presence of its three national parks and is among the Italian regions with the highest number of localities, in 23, present in the prestigious club "The most beautiful villages of Italy". However, it is rich in boroughs, castles, basilicas and art cities with high artistic value, which lead to increasing the tourist flow.



L’Aquila still today is well-preserved in medieval fabric, with its historical center divided by medieval walls. Numerous are the historic buildings, built especially after the earthquake of L'Aquila of 1703.

Pescara is the largest city in the region that holds the primacy of the Abruzzo economy for its proximity to the sea. Among the main monuments are the old quarter of Portanuova, with the Casa Natale of Gabriele d'Annunzio, the nearby museum of the people at the fortress and the sanctuary cathedral, rebuilt in the Fascist era, and the Michetti theater.


Abruzzo consists of 4 provinces and 305 municipalities. Among the provinces we find: L'Aquila, Pescara, Chieti, Teramo.